Possible Consequences of Driving Under Influence In New York
Driving under the influence of alcohol or any substance is a severe criminal offense. The person driving the vehicle can receive a high charge or fine if they perform such crimes. Moreover, driving under the influence is unsafe for them or any other vehicle driving near them. Drinking impairs a person’s ability to think, and slows down your reflex. According to various reports, there are hundreds of accidents throughout the year due to drving under influence.
There is no other option to “sober up” rather than wait until the body metabolizes the alcohol. While it is impossible to get away after a DUI, a Rochester criminal defense attorney can help prepare a solid defense stratergy to reduce your charges.
Possible consequences of driving under the influence in New York
Getting convicted with a DWI ticket is serious. The person may receive penalties depending on the severity, including the following:
- Driving while impaired by alcohol
The person will receive VTL 1192-1 DWAI penalty if the police believe the presence of impairment. The police officials will perform tests to measure the blood alcohol content. If it is less than 0.08 percent, the person may receive a penalty of about $300 to $500 and imprisonment of 15 days. If the person performs the same crime within five years, they have to pay a fine of about $500 to $700 and imprisonment of 30days.
- Driving while high
Not only alcohol, but anyone can get a penalty if they are under the influence of drugs. They may receive VTL 1192-4 DWAI/Drugs penalty. The penalty charges vary from $500 to $1000.
- Driving while intoxicated
The penalty received for driving while intoxicated is VTL 1192-2 DWI. If the driver’s blood alcohol levels are higher than 0.08, which means they are not capable of operating any vehicle safely. The penalty charges range from $500 to $1000 with imprisonment of 15 days. Any second conviction within ten years may lead to a penalty of $1000 to $5000 with one-year imprisonment.
- Refusing to take the test
If police suspect anyone drunk driving and refuse to take the test, they receive VTL 1192-3 DWI-REFUSAL. The penalty charges range from $500 to $1000, and the imprisonment time depends on various factors.
- Worse driving while intoxicated
If the person drives any vehicle with blood alcohol levels of more than 0.18, they receive VTL 1192-4 DWAI. The charges of this penalty are $1,000 to $2,500 with one-year imprisonment.
Some other penalties may also apply, including installing an ignition interlock system or suspension of the driving license. Penalties increases with the severity of the details of charges.